Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to SIFT: Home

Introduction to SIFT

Overview of The SIFT Method

An Introduction to SIFT Source Evaluation...

S - Stop...

I - Investigate the Source...

  • Just add Wikipedia
  • Is the source or organization what I thought it was?
  • Does this make it more or less trustworthy?

F - Find Better Coverage or the Original Source...

  • Look and see what other coverage is available on the same topic
  • Build your own list of trusted news sources

T - Trace Claims, Quotes, and Media Back to the Original Context...

 

Investigate: Did Coronavirus Come From Bats?

Did Coronavirus Come from Bats? What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

Investigate the Source: Goop.com

Goop.com

Find Better Coverage: 5g

5G Vaccines...

Someone forwards this fake Instagram post to you. Using any of the SIFT techniques introduced so far, verify or debunk the information. Be prepared to share your process/technique with your classmates.

Trace Claims: Guardian

Greenland Ice Sheet Melt

Your group is researching climate change for class. You come across this. What do you think?

 

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Investigate the Source: Global Positive News

What do you think of this? Is this source legit?

Find Better Coverage: Tesla - Electrek

You're researching alternative energy and battery technology. What do you think about this source?

 

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

Trace Claims: Bill Gates Vaccine Problem

Bill Gates and the Vaccine Problem

This Tweet comes your way from a friend of a friend. Should you be worried about the safety of the new vaccines? Use your SIFT detective skills to figure out the misinformation technique being used. Would you retweet or post this to your stories?

Trace Claims: Hot Dogs

Hot Dogs Could Shorten Your Life by 36 Minutes!

This drops into one of your social media feeds. What do you think? How might you trace the claim to the original source and context?

Investigate the Source: Snopes Plagiarism

Did the founder of the Snopes factchecking site commit plagiarism?

What are your thoughts on this source?

Investigate - America's Frontline Doctors

America's Frontline Doctors

Your beloved uncle shares information from this site. What are your thoughts about this site as a source for information about the safety of vaccines?

 

Car Chargers

$50,000 to Destroy Car Chargers?

You're browsing through your feed and come across this. What do you think?

Veritasium Shade Balls

Why Are 96,000,000 Black Balls on This Reservoir?

Your group is doing research on water resources for your project. You come across this great video. Do you use it?

Origins of Covid - Wired

Origins of Covid...

Your science group is doing research on Covid and genetics. You come across this interesting piece in your searching. What do you think?

 

 

Blabberbuzz News - Email Newsletter

Blabberbuzz News

You suddenly start getting email like this in your email box. Thoughts?

Mid-Pacific Website | MyPueo | Library Homepage | HS Database Page | MS Database Page | NoodleTools | Turnitin | MLA  Formatting