LibGuides: Copyright Friendly Resources: Image Resources

Searching for Images - Tips

To use Creative Commons

Select what you will search (Google Images? Flickr?)
Type your topic in the search box
Remember when you cite your images to get the website information too!

To use Britannica School

Search your topic
On the results page (showing articles), select "Images" in the left-hand column
To cite your images, tap/click on the check box to get your citation!

Pictures for Projects

Most images from these image search engines or collections are licensed for reuse by students and teachers. It is ALWAYS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to appropriately cite the image or provide appropriate attribution as designated for each image.

Search for CC licensed images. Files downloaded have automatically generated attribution content afixed to the bottom of the file.

Go here to search for Creative Commons licensed images and other content. For more information on Creative Commons licensing - Go to License Chart

Search for CC licensed images. Files download window allows you to select the desired image size and copy auto-generated attribution text that can be copied and pasted onto a blog post or presentation.

Pics4Learning is a safe, free image library for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and images for classrooms, multimedia projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other project in an educational setting.

Sites for Attribution Free Images

Searchable Sites:

Unsplash
A very fine collection of attribution-free high quality images that lean toward landscapes and still-life subjects. You must browse rather than search for images.
Morguefile
A post production file, of over 350,000 free stock photos for commercial or educational use.
Pexels
An excellent search tool for locating high quality images for use in presentations and projects that require no attribution.
Pixabay
Pixabay has a sizable collection of attribution and license free images that can be searched. To access and use the best quality images, users must create a free account.
Public Domain Pictures
While searchable, this collection can sometimes be uneven in quality. Users must create free accounts to download some of the highest quality photos.

Browseable by Category:

NegativeSpace.co
"Beautiful, High-Resolution Free Stock Photos
For personal or commercial use, all of our CC0 licensed images are completely free to use!"
Skitter Photo: License Free High Quality Photos for Anyone to Use
A fine collection of photos that are conveniently categorized. Navigate to the "Categories" link at the top of the main page.
JeShoots
A nice collection of attribution free images that can be browsed by category. Go to the "Category" tab on the main page.
Splitshire
A collection of attribution free images that tend toward an edgier tone and feel. Click on the icon with three bars in the top right corner of the main page to browse images by category.

Uncategorized Collections:

Gratisphotography
Photographer Ryan McGuire maintains a site where he makes his interesting, quirky photographs available free of copyright restrictions. Available images need to be browsed.
Jay Mantri
Photographer Jay Mantri makes his interesting attribution free images available on his Tumblr blog.