Darnel | IB Global Politics Political Engagement: Unused Boxes

S - Stop...

I - Investigate the Source...

F - Find Better Coverage...

T - Trace Claims, Quotes, and Media Back to the Original Context...

Your group is working on a project on designing cities that are better for the environment. What do you think about this source?

Cite Tik Tok? Does this seriously seem legit?

AP News

Professor Predicts: People Will Die After COVID-19 Vaccine

This (real) site is sent to your grandma by one of her friends. Using the SIFT strategies and techniques you've learned, demonstrate how you might show your grandma that this information has a very high possibility of being misleading or problematic is some way. The actual site is NOT linked here. Please do not visit the site itself as we do not want to drive any additional traffic to the actual site itself. 

Did Coronavirus Come from Bats? What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

Goop.com

Greenland Ice Sheet Melt

Your group is researching climate change for class. You come across this. What do you think?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

What do you think of this? Is this source legit?

You're researching alternative energy and battery technology. What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

Hot Dogs Could Shorten Your Life by 36 Minutes!

This drops into one of your social media feeds. What do you think? How might you trace the claim to the original source and context?

Bill Gates and the Vaccine Problem

This Tweet comes your way from a friend of a friend. Should you be worried about the safety of the new vaccines? Use your SIFT detective skills to figure out the misinformation technique being used. Would you retweet or post this to your stories?

America's Frontline Doctors

Your beloved uncle shares information from this site. What are your thoughts about this site as a source for information about the safety of vaccines?

Why Are 96,000,000 Black Balls on This Reservoir?

Your group is doing research on water resources for your project. You come across this great video. Do you use it?

Blabberbuzz News

You suddenly start getting email like this in your email box. Thoughts?

Origins of Covid...

Your science group is doing research on Covid and genetics. You come across this interesting piece in your searching. What do you think?

$50,000 to Destroy Car Chargers?

You're browsing through your feed and come across this. What do you think?

5G Vaccines...

Someone forwards this fake Instagram post to you. Using any of the SIFT techniques introduced so far, verify or debunk the information. Be prepared to share your process/technique with your classmates.

Did the founder of the Snopes factchecking site commit plagiarism?

What are your thoughts on this source?

Iran International on Protests in Iran... What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

How Ukraine Wins. What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

You're exploring sustainable energy policy. You come across this article from the Enconomist. What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

You are exploring sustainable energy policies. You come across this source from Reason. What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?

You're exploring coastal management policy. You come across this article from the Brookings Institute. What do you think about this source?

Origin: Who wrote/published this piece? Is there evidence that they are qualified to discuss this topic?

Purpose: Imagine yourself in the author's shoes. What was the author's purpose for writing/sharing this piece?

Value: How was this piece useful to you? Did it help your knowledge, learning, or understanding of the topic? Does it offer one side/perspective on an idea or controversy?

Limit: How might this piece be limited or incomplete in its coverage of the topic? What might be missing? What does the author leave out?