|
 |
|
|
|
|
Video 3 - Find a better source...
|
|
|
Video 4 - Trace claims/quotes to their original source...
|
Tertiary Sources: Encyclopedias/Reference Books/Wikipedia:
Teritary sources like encyclopedias, reference books, and sites like Wikipedia are collections of short, factual entries often written by different contributors who are knowledgeable about a topic. General encyclopedias provide short, clear overviews on a wide variety of topics. Reference books provide short articles on a specific topic. World Book Online and Britannica Online are available through links on the Mid-Pacific library portal pages.
How They Are Used:
To start the research process when looking for background information on a topic
When trying to find key ideas, important dates or concepts
Consider:
While any source can have inaccurate information or content that is out-of-date, encyclopedias are generally considered excellent sources of reliable information.
 |
 |
Books:
Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research purposes, you will probably be looking for books that contain information on one topic to support a particular argument or thesis.
How They Are Used:
Consider:
With the growth of “print-on-demand” publishing, an increasing number of books are being published by “vanity presses.” Individual authors can publish their own books without going through the editing and revision process that used to be standard for all books. In most cases, if you find a book in the library’s collection, you can feel comfortable that the information is reliable and appropriate for school research.
 |
 |
 |
Databases:
A database is a collection of materials like articles, book chapters, research reports, and more that are collected and organized for easy searching and retrieval. Libraries purchase subscriptions to databases so that you can connect to these credible sources and use them for free for your research. There are two main types of databases.
Some databases such as periodical databases are collections of articles and material from multiple sources that are gathered together so they can be searched and accessed.
Subject databases are collections of articles and content created by specific database publishers. Articles in subject databases are generally considered to be as accurate and reliable as print books.
How They Are Used:
Consider:
Use of magazine content, newspaper content, or journal content from a periodical database should be based on the criteria for each kind of source.
Content produced for a subject database should be evaluated for reliability, accuracy, and bias just as you would evaluate books.
 |
 |
Websites:
The Web allows you to access most types of information on the Internet through a web browser. One of the main features of the web is the ability to quickly link to other related information. The web contains information beyond plain text, including sounds, images and video.
Websites are Generally Used:
Consider:
Because content on the web can be published by virtually anyone with an internet connection and computer, the reliability and accuracy of the information varies greatly from website to website. Always apply the highest level of discernment when deciding to use content from a website for academic research.
 |
 |
Newspapers:
A newspaper is a collection of articles about current events usually published daily. Since there is usually at least one in every city, it is often the best source for local information. Newspapers, like journals and magazines, are called "periodicals" because they are published on a regular or on-going basis.
How They are Used:
Consider:
Newspapers have professional editors and editorials staffs that decide what content gets printed in the paper on a given day. Papers can have varying points-of-view (some are thought to lean to either the political left or the political right for example), but standards of professional journalism mean that reporters most often try to report on the factual truth to the best of their ability. It is important to remember that newspapers have both news articles and editorials. Editorials are personal opinion pieces rather than factual reporting on a story. Before using content from a newspaper, you must figure out whether it is a news article or an editorial, then decide if it should be used based on the nature of the class assignment.
 |
 |
Popular Magazines:
A magazine is a collection of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually these articles are written by journalists or scholars and are geared toward the average adult. Magazines may cover very "serious" material, but to find consistent scholarly information you should use journals.
How They Are Used:
Consider:
Magazines are written and published by reporters or writers, and with specific audiences in mind. Sometimes a magazine’s audience is general and at other times a magazine is published to represent a specific point-of-view. For example, some magazines may represent positions of the political left, the political right, or of a libertarian viewpoint. You should always understand and consider a magazine’s viewpoint before using the content for your research.
 |
 |
 |
Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals
A journal is a collection of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted. Articles in journals can cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research. Since journals are published on a regular or periodic basis they are grouped in the category called "periodicals." Electronic journals, called e-journals, are published on the Web by scholarly organizations and are made available to you from your library.
How They Are Used:
Consider:
Scholarly journals are written for academic audiences. The primary goal of a scholarly journal is to provide a place for academic researchers to share their research and thinking with other scholars in their areas of study. In order to be included in a journal, articles have been “peer reviewed” by other qualified scholars in their area of study. Content from scholarly journals is usually considered to be highly reliable and of very high quality.
 |
 |
 |
Stuff to know and tools to use for research - NOT SOURCES.
How to create & share a new project
How to copy/paste a preformatted citation from a database or webpage
How to export & print my Works Cited
More Tutorials and Information:
|
To use Creative Commons
To use Britannica School
|
Most images from these image search engines or collections are licensed for reuse by students and teachers. It is ALWAYS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to appropriately cite the image or provide appropriate attribution as designated for each image.
Go here to search for Creative Commons licensed images and other content. For more information on Creative Commons licensing - Go to License Chart
|
Sites for Attribution Free Images
|
Searchable Sites:
|
|
Browseable by Category:
|
|
Uncategorized Collections:
|
To use Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
Music that can be downloaded and used in videos and other content you create. Tracks can be sorted by genre or mood for easier browsing and selection.
Kevin McLeod generously maintains a collection of music files for video projects. Music files can be used in projects and posted publicly, but proper attribution is required.
Great historical music recordings that are now in the public domain and free to use.
A fine collection of files for sound effects. Each sound file is designated with 1 of 4 types of use licenses. Be sure that your use of the sound file meets the requirements for use.
Determine the Information Need
Presearch
Define the information task
Put topic in a context
Getting Started...
Define your information task and need
Generate your initial research questions
Develop an information seeking strategy.
As you presearch think:
Things to Do!
Now that you are a bit more familiar with how your topic is organized; the vocabulary of the field of study; important people, dates, and/or places; and you have some initial research questions, you are read to begin your actual research!
Locate and Access
Develop a research plan
Locate and access sources
| Locating and Accessing Sources: | |
| Books: |  |
| Primary Sources in Books: | |
| Databases: | |
Use the Information and Take Notes
Read/Listen/Watch your sources
Use the information
Any good research note taking system needs to:
Important note taking tip: If you choose to use document-style note taking, write only on the front sides of your note paper; skip lines between each fact, and use parenthetical-style citation for each fact as explained in the slideshow below. Following these guidelines gives you the option to cut your note sheets apart and regroup your facts as you organize your ideas later in the project process.
Organize
Analyze the information
Web, map, outline, etc.
|
The Persuasive Thesis |
The Analytical Thesis |
| Click here to download the Analytical Thesis Worksheet |
| Building Your Outline | Using In-Text Citations |
Create
Synthesis: Create something new
Compose drafts, create storyboards, etc.
 |
Define your audience:
|
 |
Establish your purpose:
|
 |
What is your thesis?
|
 |
Think about creative credit and usage rights from the BEGINNING!
|
Share
Deliver product to the audience
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
8888888 | 9999999 |
 |
|
|
Mid-Pacific Website | MyPueo | Library Homepage | HS Database Page | MS Database Page | NoodleTools | Turnitin | MLA Formatting
